A Kentucky quit claim deed is used to transfer the ownership of a piece of real estate from a grantor to a grantee with no warranty. The grantor gives no guarantee that they have an interest in the property or that its title is free of defects (mortgages or liens from current or previous owners). For this reason, the quit claim deed is more commonly used for dealings between family members or close acquaintances. The legal ownership of real estate is signified by its property title, and the title and property rights are claimed and transferred by its owner through a deed that is recorded by the county clerk’s office.
For the deed to be valid, it must be signed by two (2) witnesses or acknowledged by a notary public or county clerk.
- Statutes: Chapter 382 – Conveyances and Encumbrances
- Consideration Certificate (§ 382.135(1)(e)): If the property is conveyed as a gift or for a nominal fee, both parties must execute a notarized certificate stating that the consideration is the full amount.
- Signing Requirements (§ 382.130): Two (2) Witnesses or Notary Public/County Clerk
- Where to Record (§ 382.110): County Clerk’s Office
- Recording Fees (Kentucky County Clerks “Recording Fees”): $46/$50