The California 30-day notice to quit is a letter sent by a landlord notifying their tenant that they intend to terminate the lease within thirty (30) days. Under California law, both parties have the right to end a residential rental agreement in this manner and are not required to give a reason. A 30-day notice is used only when the tenant has resided in the dwelling for less than one (1) year. To terminate a lease that has lasted more than a year, a 60-Day Notice to Quit must be used.
Laws – § 1946.1(c)
60-Day Notice to Terminate Month-to-Month Tenancy – Periodic rental agreements that have lasted longer than one (1) can be terminated by both the landlord and tenant by providing a sixty (60) day notice to the non-terminating party.