1. Home »
  2. Eviction Notice »
  3. Illinois »
  4. Non-Payment

Illinois 5-Day Notice to Quit | Non-Payment

An Illinois 5-day notice to quit for non-payment is an eviction notice used by a landlord to inform a tenant that they have failed to paid rent on time in accordance with their lease agreement. By law, the tenant must be given five (5) days (from the date of service of the notice to quit) to pay the landlord in full before their tenancy is terminated. If the tenant does not make the full rent payment within the five-day notice, the tenancy will terminate and an eviction suit can be filed by the landlord.

Laws735 ILCS 5/9-209

Grace Period (770 ILCS 95/7.10(a)) – Landlords can only charge a late fee for overdue rent after five (5) days have passed since the rent due date.

Late Fees (770 ILCS 95/7.10(a)) – Landlords may charge a late fee of $20 or 20% of the rent amount, whichever is greater, five (5) days after the rent due date. However, late fees can only be charged if the landlord included a late fee provision in the lease agreement.