1. Home »
  2. Eviction Notice »
  3. North Carolina »
  4. Non-Payment

North Carolina 10-Day Notice to Quit | Non-Payment

A North Carolina 10-day notice to quit is a document that landlords serve on tenants to inform them that they have an outstanding rent balance that they must pay in full or vacate the premises within ten (10) days. State law gives tenants a five (5) day grace period in which to pay their rent before a landlord can charge any interest. If the tenant can pay the full amount that is due plus interest (if applicable) before the notice expires, their lease won’t be canceled and they can continue their tenancy.

Grace Period (§ 42-46 (a)) – Five (5) Days

Laws§ 42-3

Maximum Interest (§ 42-46(a)) – 5% of monthly rent OR $15 (whichever is greater)