New Mexico 3-Day Notice to Quit | Substantial Violation

Last updated October 1st, 2022

  1. Home »
  2. Eviction Notice »
  3. New Mexico »
  4. Substantial Violation

The New Mexico 3-day notice to quit is a document that landlords will serve on tenants to inform them that their lease is canceled due to serious lease violations or illegal activity. Examples of substantial violations include selling/manufacturing a controlled substance, unlawful use of a weapon, assaulting another person, theft, or causing more than one thousand dollars ($1,000) worth of damage on or within three hundred (300) feet of the rental property. Once the tenant has received the notice, they will have three (3) days to move out or face legal action from the landlord.

Laws – § 47-8-33(I)