An Alaska rental application provides landlords with a comprehensive look into potential tenants that applied to rent a residential property. Upon receiving the completed application and any applicable fees, the landlord will be able to run a background check that reveals any unfavorable criminal, rental, employment, or financial history that could deter the landlord from renting to the individual. In Alaska, landlords may charge any amount for application fees, although they are recommended to only charge the actual cost of running the report, which is between $15 and $40.
Maximum Fees ($)
Application Fee (No Statute) – The landlord may charge as much as desired.
Pet Deposit (AS 34.03.070(h)) – The landlord may charge up to one (1) month’s rent.
Security Deposit (AS 34.03.070(a)) – Two (2) months’ rent. If the rent is more than $2,000 per month, there is no limit.