Updated on January 20th, 2023
An Iowa quit claim deed is a document that transfers real estate ownership between two (2) parties without any guarantee that the property is free of outside claims. Due to the fact that the person to whom the property is being transferred (the grantee) receives no warranty regarding title encumbrances, and no guarantee that the grantor has an actual ownership interest in the property title, this type of agreement is often used in non-sale transfers or gifts of property between family members. The transfer of ownership officially occurs when the deed has been notarized and then filed with the property’s county recorder.
- Statute: § 558.19(1)
- Formatting: §§ 331.606B and 558.19
- Signing Requirements (§ 558.20): Notary Public
- Where to Record: County Recording Office
- Recording Fees (Iowa Land Records, §§ 331.507(2)(a), 428A.1): $7 for the first page and $5 for each additional page. County recorders may require payment of additional fees and transfer taxes.
- Declaration of Value: Required unless the transfer is exempt as per § 428A.2 (see instructions).
- Groundwater Hazard Statement: Required to be filed with the deed.
- Property Disclosure Statement (§ 558A.2 & § 558A.4): Informs prospective buyers about the property’s features and condition. Must be accompanied by the Radon Fact Sheet.