A Nebraska quit claim deed is a legal document that transfers real estate ownership without any assurances or covenants to warrant the property title. Quit claim deeds offer no guarantee that the person transferring ownership (the grantor) is the property’s current title holder, nor do they promise that the title is free and clear of encumbrances. As such, the form is best suited for low-risk transactions wherein the parties are well-acquainted, such as divorce settlements or transfers from a parent to a child. Deeds in Nebraska must contain the grantor’s notarized signature and be recorded by the Register of Deeds.
- Statutes: Chapter 76 (Real Property)
- Formatting: § 23-1503.01
- Documentary Stamp Tax (REG-52-001 thru REG-52-012): Unless exempt, this tax is imposed upon the grantor whenever a deed is recorded.
- Certificate of Exemption: The grantor may use this form to obtain an exemption from the documentary stamp tax.
- Real Estate Transfer Statement: The grantee must file this document when presenting a deed to be recorded.
- Signing Requirements (§ 76-211): Notary Public
- Where to Record: Register of Deeds
- Recording Fees (§ 33-109): $10 for the first page + $6 for each additional page