Updated on September 1st, 2022
A New Hampshire release deed is used when a property owner, the “grantor,” transfers real estate to another party, the “grantee,” without any covenant or warranty of title. In New Hampshire, a release deed functions like a quit claim deed in most other states. It conveys all of the grantor’s rights and interest to a piece of property, but it doesn’t guarantee that real estate belonged to the grantor or that the title is free from encumbrances.
Due to the absence of protection afforded to the grantee, a release deed should only be used when there is little to no risk of title defects. A common application for a release deed is to transfer property to a spouse, child, or other trusted party.
- Statutes: Title XLVIII, Chapter 477 (Conveyances of Realty and Interests Therein)
- Formatting (§ 478:4 & § 478:4-a): Recording standards are posted by the local Register of Deeds (review Carroll County standards for reference).
- Signing Requirements (§ 477:3): Notary Public
- Where to Record (§ 477:3-a): Register of Deeds
- Recording Fees (§ 478:17-g): $10 for the first page + $4 for each additional page
- Property Disclosure Statement (§ 477:4-d): The buyer must receive a written disclosure from the seller listing any problems with the home’s insulation, sewage disposal system, or water supply (required for residential property transactions only).