Updated on October 26th, 2022
A New Hampshire deed is a legal instrument that conveys a property title from a grantor (owner) to a grantee (buyer or other recipient). The transfer of title demonstrates an official change in real estate ownership, a process which is validated upon the recording of a deed. Unlike other states, a New Hampshire deed needn’t specify the purchase price, but must include the names of the grantor and grantee, the grantee’s mailing address, a description of the land or interest being conveyed, and the grantor’s notarized signature.
Deeds may also include warranties that offer varying degrees of title protection to the grantee depending on the type of deed. A “general warranty deed” fully guarantees the title, while a “release deed” transfers ownership with no title assurances.
Deed of Trust – Conveys a grantor’s property title to a trustee to hold as security for a loan. The property title is returned to the grantor when the lender is repaid.
General Warranty Deed – A deed whereby the grantor warrants that the property title is unencumbered and promises to defend the title against lawful claims.
Quit Claim Deed – A New Hampshire quit claim deed operates like a special warranty deed: it releases the grantor’s interest in property with a warranty covering title defects caused by the grantor, but not defects originating from prior owners.
Release Deed – Conveys the grantor’s interest in property with no assurances of title, therefore leaving the grantee liable for any encumbrances attached to the property.
- Statutes: Title XLVIII, Chapter 477 (Conveyances of Realty and Interests Therein)
- Formatting (§ 478:4 & § 478:4-a): Counties shall post formatting requirements pursuant to the uniform standards adopted by the Register of Deeds (see posting for Carroll County).
- Signing Requirements (§ 477:3): Notary Public
- Where to Record (§ 477:3-a): Register of Deeds
- Recording Fees (§ 478:17-g):
- $10 for the first page
- $4 for each additional page
- $25 surcharge to fund the Land and Community Heritage Investment Program (LCHIP)
- $2 equipment account surcharge (only applicable in counties that have adopted the provisions of § 478:17-j)
- Property Disclosure Statement (§ 477:4-d): Used by a seller to evaluate the condition of the home’s water supply, sewage system, insulation, and other features. The buyer must receive this disclosure before signing a purchase offer.