Updated on September 1st, 2022
A New Hampshire quit claim deed is a legal document that transfers property ownership and includes a warranty that the title is free from encumbrances caused by the grantor (seller/transferor), excluding those disclosed in the deed. Similar to a special warranty deed in other states, a New Hampshire quit claim deed offers no protection against title defects originating prior to the grantor’s ownership. The new property owner (buyer/grantee) is therefore at risk of incurring liens, judgments, and other title issues caused or suffered by the property’s previous owners.
To mitigate the risk of acquiring property through a quit claim deed, the grantee should perform a title inspection to verify the grantor’s ownership and see if there are any unresolved claims against the property.
Related Forms (1)
Release Deed – Conveys ownership from the grantor to the grantee without any title guarantees or protection whatsoever.
Download: PDF, Word (.docx), OpenDocument
- Statutes: § 477:28
- Formatting (§ 478:4 & § 478:4-a): Counties will post formatting criteria established in accordance with the Register of Deeds’ uniform standards (see requirements for Belknap County).
- Signing Requirements (§ 477:3): Acknowledged before a notary public, justice, or commissioner.
- Where to Record (§ 477:3-a): Register of Deeds
- Recording Fees (§ 478:17-g): $10 for the first page + $4 for each additional page
- Property Disclosure Statement (§ 477:4-d): Before purchasing residential property, the buyer must be notified of any issues affecting the property’s insulation, water supply, or sewage system.