1. Home »
  2. Eviction Notice »
  3. Delaware »
  4. Lease Termination

Delaware 60-Day Notice to Quit | Lease Termination Letter

A Delaware 60-day notice to quit is used by a landlord or tenant to terminate an active lease agreement. Whether the rental agreement is a month-to-month lease or a lease with a fixed end date, the terminating party must provide sixty (60) days’ notice to the other party. For month-to-month tenancies, the 60-day notice period starts on the first day of the month following the day the notice was delivered. For agreements other than month-to-month, the notice must be given sixty (60) days prior to the lease expiration date. If a tenant is served this notice and fails to vacate the rental unit after sixty (60) days have passed, the landlord may file a summary for possession (eviction process).

Laws§ 5106(c) & (b)