The Iowa 3-day notice to quit for non-payment is served on a tenant who has failed to pay rent on the due date, as defined by their lease agreement. This notice provides the tenant with three (3) days (from the notice delivery date) to pay all past due rent to the landlord or risk eviction.
Iowa law does not make it a requirement for landlords to give the tenant a grace period between the date rent is due and the day they are permitted to serve this notice. If rent is due on the 1st of the month, for example, the landlord can serve this notice on the 2nd of the month to demand payment from the tenant. If the tenant does not pay within the notice period, the lease is terminated and they must vacate the premises.
Laws – § 562A.27(2)
When is Rent Due? (§§ 562A.9(3)) – Rent is due at the beginning of any term of one (1) month or less and otherwise in equal monthly installments at the beginning of each month. The parties may agree to a different payment arrangement in the lease agreement.
Rent Late Fees (§§ 562A.9(4)) – Landlords may not charge more than $12/day or $60/month in late fees if the rent is $700/month or less. If the rent is more than $700/month, they can charge up to $20/day or $100/month.