A California rental application enables a landlord to collect pertinent information on a potential tenant before renting out residential property to them. This form asks for the applicant’s personal information, rental history, employment and income information, banking and credit information, and references. By completing an application form, the applicant is authorizing the landlord to perform background checks on them. Landlords may have to pay to obtain background information on applicants; therefore, they can demand an application fee from applicants to cover these costs. After the landlord has reviewed the applications, they will select the most suitable tenant.
Maximum Fees ($)
Application Fee (§ 1950.6) – In accordance with state law, landlords may not charge more than a $30 application fee per applicant. However, this amount is adjusted annually as the Consumer Price Index increases. The maximum amount is currently $52.46 (as of August 2020).
Pet Deposit (No Statute) – California law does not specifically mention pet deposits.
Security Deposit (§ 1950.5(c)) – In California, the maximum security deposit that can be charged to tenants is the equivalent to two (2) months’ rent. If the rental unit is furnished, the maximum increases to the equivalent to three (3) months’ rent.