Updated on April 25th, 2023
A California 24-hour notice to enter is a document that informs a tenant that their landlord will enter their rental unit. It includes the landlord’s contact information and the date, time, and reason for entry. In California, landlords must provide tenants at least 24 hours notice before entering the premises.
Emergency Access (§ 1954(e)(1)) – Landlords do not need to provide notice in an emergency.
California law states that 24 hours’ notice must be provided before entering a tenant’s dwelling. Entry should be made during regular business hours (except for abandoned or surrendered premises). 48 hours’ notice must be provided for move-out inspections.
If delivering the notice by mail, mailing the notice six days before entry is considered reasonable.
Statute: § 1950.5(f), § 1954
Notice is required for necessary or agreed:
- Repairs, decorations, alterations, or improvements
- Showings to prospective purchasers, mortgagees, tenants, worker, or contractors
- Move-out inspections
Notice Not Required
- In the case of an emergency
- If the tenant is present and consents to the landlord’s entry
- If the premises are abandoned or surrendered by the tenant