Vermont Landlord Notice to Enter | 48-Hour

Vermont Landlord Notice to Enter | 48-Hour

Last updated May 3rd, 2023

  1. Home »
  2. Lease Agreements »
  3. Notice to Enter »
  4. Vermont

A Vermont 48-hour notice to enter notifies a tenant that the landlord will access the property for an inspection, repairs, improvements, or servicing. The notice informs the tenant why the landlord’s entry is required and when it will occur. If the tenant doesn’t consent to the proposed appointment, the parties will generally schedule a more agreeable time. Although the tenant’s consent is required, they cannot unreasonably refuse entry.

Emergency Access (§ 4460(c)) – The landlord can access a rental unit without consent if there is an imminent threat to any person or property.


A landlord must give the tenant at least 48 hours’ notice before entering the property to do any of the following:

  • Inspect the premises
  • Repairs, alterations, or improvements
  • Supply agreed-upon services
  • Exhibit the rental unit to prospective buyers, tenants, or workers

The scheduled visit must be between 9 AM and 9 PM, and the landlord must get the tenant’s consent to access the premises.

Statutes: § 4460