Updated on July 1st, 2022
An Arkansas quit claim deed allows a grantee to receive a grantor’s interest in a property quickly, albeit without any warranty of title. The grantee will be unable to take legal action against the grantor if any encumbrances or other title issues come to light after deed execution. Though it is not recommended to use a quit claim deed for most real estate transactions, it is beneficial for clearing up title defects, in property transfers between trusted parties, and when adding or removing names on a title.
- Statutes: Chapter 12 – Conveyances
- Formatting: § 14-15-402(b)(1), §
- Signing Requirements (§ 18-12-104 & § 18-12-201): Notary Public and Two (2) Disinterested Witnesses
- Where to record (§ 14-15-404(a)(1)): Circuit Court
- Recording fees (§ 21-6-306(a)): $15 for the first page, $5 for each additional page
- Arkansas Real Property Tax Affidavit of Compliance Form: The Department of Finance and Administration states that each deed that conveys real property must pay the Real Property Transfer Tax, and the compliance form must be submitted with the deed.