Alaska Month-to-Month Lease Agreement

An Alaska month-to-month lease agreement binds a landlord and tenant to a tenancy arrangement that can be canceled with 30 days’ notice (by either party). Otherwise known as a “tenancy-at-will,” both parties are protected under Alaska landlord-tenant laws. For example, the landlord must follow the State’s eviction protocol if a tenant does not pay rent.

Last updated November 17th, 2023

  1. Home »
  2. Lease Agreements »
  3. Alaska »
  4. Month-to-month
Rental Application – Use to screen a tenant seeking a tenancy-at-will.

Month-to-Month Lease Laws

  • Increasing Rent – No statute. To modify a month-to-month lease, the landlord must follow the termination laws by giving 30 days’ notice when increasing rent.
  • Notice For Terminating – The landlord or tenant may give 30 days written notice to the other party to cancel.[1]

Required Disclosures (4)

  1. Absence – It should be stated in the rental agreement that the landlord must be notified if the tenant plans on being absent from the rental property for seven (7) or more days.[2]
  2. Landlord’s Information – The landlord must disclose to the tenant in writing any person(s) authorized to manage the property and receive notices/demands from the tenant.[3]
  3. Lead-Based Paint Disclosure Form (PDF) – Federal law states that landlords and tenants must sign this form for any dwelling constructed before 1978.[4]
  4. Withholding Security Deposit – Any security deposits taken should be held in a trust account, savings and loan association, or with a licensed escrow agent. The terms and conditions by which the landlord may withhold any portion of the security deposit must be provided to the tenant.[5]