Updated on May 30th, 2022
An Alaska quit claim deed is a legal document used for transferring interest (ownership) in real estate without assurances as to the title’s quality. Due to the potential risk involved in using a quit claim deed, exchanges of property using this type of deed usually involve parties who know each other well. The benefit of providing no assurances regarding the title is that it is very fast to execute and record a quit claim deed. However, should the grantee (buyer) discover the property has a lien or has more than one owner, they can’t hold the grantor liable.
- Statutes: Chapter 34.15 (Conveyances)
- Formatting: § 40.17.030, “Preparing Documents” Guide
- Signing requirements (§ 34.15.150): The grantor(s) must have their signature(s) notarized.
- Where to record: The completed deed must be brought to the recorder’s office in the district where the property is located in. View all offices.
- Recording fees (Alaska.gov “Recording Fees”): $20 for the first page, $5 for each additional page. Additional fees may apply.