A New Jersey general warranty deed is a property conveyance document in which a seller grants ownership of real estate to a buyer with the promise of a valid title free from liens, encumbrances, and defects of any nature. The seller’s pledge is a binding warranty that serves as protection for the buyer. Should another party claim to be the property owner, or if the buyer is exposed to unresolved title issues, they would be shielded from personal liability. Mortgage lenders often require this form of conveyance as a prerequisite for home financing. Title companies may also require a general warranty deed in order to issue title insurance to soon-to-be property owners.
- Statutes: § 46:4-7
- Formatting: § 46:26A-5 & § 46:26A-3
- Signing Requirements (§ 46:26A-3): Notary Public
- Where to Record: County Clerk
- Recording Fees (§ 22A:4-4.1 & § 22A:4-17): $30 for the first page + $10 for each additional page + $10 tax abstract fee.
- Cover Sheet (§ 46:26A-5): May be required when submitting a deed for recording; individuals can obtain a cover sheet from the County Clerk’s office.
- Seller’s Residency Certification/Exemption: Required if the seller is a New Jersey resident and will not move out of state following the property transfer.
- Nonresident Seller’s Tax Declaration: Required if the seller does not reside in New Jersey.