Updated on September 23rd, 2021
A Connecticut 3-day notice to quit is an eviction notice stating that the tenant must vacate the property or risk legal action from the landlord. This type of notice is used when a tenant has violated their lease agreement, committed a nuisance or illegal activity, or failed to pay rent on time. There is a nine (9) day grace period in the state of Connecticut, meaning tenants have up to nine days to pay their rent past the due date before the landlord can serve a 3-day notice to quit. This grace period is only applicable to rent, not to any other forms of non-compliance.
Failure to vacate the premises within the notice period will result in an eviction suit (summary process) being filed by the landlord. It’s important to note that the tenant must be given three (3) full days to leave the property once the notice is served; the date the notice is served and the move-out date (recorded on the notice) do not count.
Laws – § 47a-23(a)
Rent Grace Period (§ 47a-15a) – Nine (9) Days; Four (4) Days One-Week Tenancies
- Non-payment of rent;
- Violation of landlord’s rules and regulations (§ 47a-9 or § 21-70);
- Violation of tenant’s responsibilities (§ 47a-11 or § 21-82(b));
- Nuisance, as defined in § 47a-32, § 47a-15(A, B, C, and D), or § 21-80;
- Lease has expired and tenant remains on property; and
- Committing an otherwise curable material non-compliance or lease violation a second time within a six-month period.
15-Day Notice to Quit for Non-Compliance – Informs tenants that they have committed a curable lease violation which must be remedied within fifteen (15) days. Failure to correct the violation within the notice period will constitute grounds for lease termination.
Download: PDF, Word (.docx), OpenDocument