Alaska Eviction Notice Templates (6)

Alaska Eviction Notice Templates (6)

Last updated June 25th, 2023

  1. Home »
  2. Eviction Notice »
  3. Alaska

An Alaska eviction notice is a document that allows a landlord to inform a tenant that they have violated their lease. Also referred to as a notice to quit, an eviction notice must be obeyed by the tenant or they may risk a forcible entry and detainer action being filed against them (eviction suit).

There are a number of notice types depending on the severity of the tenant’s violation. In some cases, the landlord must give the tenant the option to cure the violation. In other situations, the breach of contract is severe enough that the tenant must vacate the premises before the notice period ends or they will be forcibly evicted.

By Type (6)

24-Hour Notice to Quit | Intentional Damage – The landlord can terminate a lease with twenty-four (24) hours’ notice if the tenant intentionally damages the rental property.

Download: PDF


5-Day Notice to Quit | Illegal Activity – Used if the tenant conducted (or permitted) illegal activities in the rental.

Download: PDF


3/5-Day Notice to Quit | Unpaid Utilities – For tenants that have outstanding utility bills.

Download: PDF


10-Day Notice to Quit | Non-Compliance – For any violation not related to the payment of rent, utility fees, intentional damage, or illegal activity.

Download: PDF


30-Day Notice to Quit | Month-to-Month Lease – Used for canceling a periodic rental arrangement.

Download: PDF, Word (.docx), OpenDocument



Eviction Laws + Required Notices

How to Evict a Tenant in Alaska

The eviction process in Alaska, also known as “forcible entry and detainer,” needs to be followed precisely in order to legally evict a tenant and ensure that the court rules in favor of the landlord. It is recommended that an attorney be consulted before proceeding with a forcible entry and detainer action.

Step 1 – Notice to Quit

Depending on the reason for eviction, the landlord must notify the tenant that they intend on terminating the tenancy and demanding repossession of the property. To accomplish this, the landlord can download and complete one (1) of the following notices to quit:

Step 2 – Deliver Notice to Quit

In Alaska, notices can be delivered via the following methods:

  1. In-person (knocking on their door);
  2. Left at the rental (taped to the door, for example);
  3. Sent via certified/registered mail.

Once delivered, the tenant will have the number of days listed in the notice to remedy the issue (or move out).

Step 3 – File for Eviction

In the event the tenant refuses to move out or fix the problem, the landlord can proceed with filing a lawsuit. An eviction case must be filed in the judicial court in which the rental property is located. The following six (6) forms must be completed and filed by the landlord:

  1. Complaint for Forcible Entry and Detainer (CIV-730).pdf
  2. Summons – Forcible Entry and Detainer (CIV-105).pdf
  3. Case Description (CIV-125D).pdf
  4. Service Instructions (CIV-615).pdf
  5. Judgment for Possession (CIV-300).pdf
  6. Writ of Assistance (CIV-575).pdf

After the documents have been filed, the court clerk will schedule an eviction hearing. The hearing must take place at least two (2) days after the tenant has been served (the clerk will ask when the landlord intends to have the tenant served).

Note: Filing fee is $150 if the amount of damages in question is under $100,000; $250 if over $100,000.

Step 4 – Serve the Tenant

In order to serve the tenant, the landlord must hire a process server to deliver the documents to the tenant in person. The landlord must provide a copy of the Complaint (CIV-730), the Summons (CIV-105), and Service Instructions (CIV 615). Once the tenant has been served, the process server will create a notarized form called a “Return of Service.” This will be filed with the court to prove the tenant received all forms and is aware of the upcoming hearing.

Step 5 – Eviction Hearing

The Summons notifies the tenant when the eviction hearing will take place. The tenant must appear before the judge or else they will most certainly rule in favor of the landlord and the tenant will be ordered to vacate the premises. If the tenant does appear, they may plead their case before the judge. The judge will decide who is in the right and will either demand the tenant hand over possession of the rental unit, or they will allow them to remain on the property.

Step 6 – Damages Claim (If Applicable)

If the landlord files a damages claim in their complaint as well as judgment for possession, the tenant has twenty (20) days from the date of service to answer the Complaint. If the tenant intends to file an answer, they will need to complete form Answer to F.E.D. Complaint (CIV-735). If they file an answer, a damages claim trial will be set. If they do not file an answer, the landlord can request a default judgment from the judge (Default Judgment (CIV-745)). Once executed, this document demands that the tenant vacate the property on the date recorded on the form.

Step 7 – Schedule Trial for Damages Claim

If the petitioner intends to recover damages from the defendant (rent, property damage, utilities, etc.), a trial must take place in order to determine the amount of money owed by the tenant. In some courts, a trial date for a claim for damages will be set automatically. Otherwise, the landlord will have to file a Memorandum to set Civil Case for Trial (CIV-200).

Step 8 – Trial for Damages Claim

On the day of the trial, both parties must appear and be ready to present any appropriate testimony or provide witnesses. The judge will enter a final judgment when they have collected all the necessary information. If the landlord wins, the tenant will be required to pay all money owed, which may include court costs, legal fees, and attorneys’ fees.

Court Forms + Resources