Rental Application – Potential tenants can be asked to fill out this form that asks for employment information and their rental history.
Lease Agreements: By Type (6)
|Standard (1-Year) Lease Agreement – A standard lease agreement is a 12-month contract to rent residential property.
|Commercial Lease Agreement – This lease agreement is used to rent retail, office, warehouse, or other commercial real estate.
|Month-to-Month Lease Agreement – A rental contract with no fixed term that renews with each monthly payment the tenant makes.
|Rent-to-Own Agreement (Lease Option) – Under this residential lease contract, the tenant is given the option to purchase the rental property if they conform to the contract’s terms.
|Roommate Agreement – With this agreement, roommates can set duties and rules for their shared living space.
|Sublease Agreement – If a landlord allows it, tenants can use this form to lease their rental unit to another person.
Required Disclosures (2)
Maximum Amount ($) – No statute limits the amount of security deposit the landlord may charge.
Collecting Interest – If the security deposit is over $50 or 1 month’s rent, whichever is greater, the landlord must pay interest on the excess at a rate of 5% per year. This rule only applies to leases of at least 6 months.
Returning to Tenant – The landlord must pay back the security deposit within 30 days of the lease termination date.
Itemized List Required? – Yes, the landlord must provide the tenant with a written notice identifying the amount and the reason for any deductions from the security deposit.
Separate Bank Account? – No, Ohio law does not require the security deposit to be kept in a separate account.
Grace Period – Ohio law does not require a landlord to give a grace period for a late payment.
Maximum Late Fee ($) – There is no statutory limit on fees for late rental payments.
Bad Check (NSF) Fee – If a tenant’s check bounces, the landlord may charge a $30 fee or 10% of the check’s value, whichever is greater.
Withholding Rent – If the landlord has failed to keep the property liveable and safe, the tenant must send a written notification giving them 30 days to fix the problem. The tenant may pay rent to the municipal court or request a rent reduction while the landlord remedies the issue.
Breaking a Lease
Non-Compliance – The landlord may give the tenant a 3-day notice to quit if they breach a part of their lease. A 30-day notice to quit may be sent to tenants, demanding they fix health and safety violations within that timeframe or be evicted.
Lockouts – It is illegal for a landlord to lock the tenant out of their residence or attempt to force them out by terminating utilities or services. The only way to legally evict a tenant is with a court order.
Leaving Before the End Date – If the tenant leaves before the lease ends, they will still be liable to pay the rent stated in the lease agreement unless a new tenant is found. The landlord must make reasonable efforts to find a new tenant.