North Dakota Deed Forms

Last updated October 26th, 2022

  1. Home »
  2. Deeds »
  3. North Dakota

North Dakota deed is a legal form that transfers ownership rights in real estate from one party (the “grantor”) to another party (the “grantee”). There are a variety of deed types listed below, and each form has its own intended purpose that can be applied to a number of circumstances. A quit claim deed is best suited for transferring property to family and other trusted individuals. In contrast, general and special warranty deeds are more commonly used in traditional sale transactions. In addition to demonstrating the change in ownership, the deed may also convey warranties to protect the grantee against claims, liens, and other encumbrances affecting the property title.


Types (5)

Deed of Trust – Conveys a borrower’s property to a trustee as collateral for a home loan. Once the loan is repaid to the lender in full, the title reconveys to the borrower.

Download: PDFWord (.docx)OpenDocument


Quit Claim Deed – Transfers a legal interest in real property with no warranty of title and no guarantee that the grantor is the property’s rightful owner.

Download: PDFWord (.docx)OpenDocument


Special Warranty Deed – Also referred to as a “grant deed,” this form conveys property with a warranty that no title encumbrances occurred during the grantor’s term of ownership.

Download: PDFWord (.docx)OpenDocument


Transfer on Death Deed – An estate planning tool in which the grantor chooses beneficiaries to inherit real estate upon their death.

Download: PDF, Word (.docx), OpenDocument


Warranty Deed – Guarantees that the grantor is the rightful owner of the subject real estate and that the property title is free from encumbrances. In most other states, this form is known as a “general warranty deed.”

Download: PDFWord (.docx)OpenDocument